I sit here alone

I sit here alone
musing to myself
as silence echoes the night.

For days together
save for an odd word
here and there
with a solemn shopkeeper
my tongue is tied.

What do I want?
Money in my kitty.
Success celebrity.
Be loved as I am.

A whisper sought
this desperado
said queen of diamonds
will beat you
queen of hearts, best bet.

Queen, diamond or hearts
not for us failures
who’ve played our hand
and lost unto the cons
who rule this world
all in the name of love
or call it kindness.

Try again, a chorus heard.
How many times.
How many ways.
The world quit us
yet we won’t quit life.

The journey goes
and so will we
for we made a vow
to stay till the end.

One thought on “I sit here alone

Leave a Reply

