I used to dream

I used to dream with lavish wonder,
I used to think no surrender,
until one too many an opportunity,
I tore apart with such impunity;

I used to enjoy life bottoms up,
until I truly hit rock bottom,
eluded even the layman’s soiled cup,
not a single thing that I can drum;

excuses galore kept me on easy lane,
until they dried up into a harsh cane,
not a pathetic excuse to keep living,
all the years passed have no meaning;

the secret of life is instincts banal,
unlike most, can’t steer in civil canal,
caught in the act, no shame anymore,
brain took backfoot and heart tore,

there is evidence of love all around,
but why not in my withering heart bound.

Leave a Reply

